Oyo Assembly Suspends Olorunsogo LG Chair, Vice, To Investigate All Councils Activities


Oyo State House of Assembly is set to carry out comprehensive investigation into the activities of all the thirty- three (33) Local Government Chairmen in the state.

The motion titled:An Imperative Need For The Investigation Into The Activities Of The Local Government Chairmen In The State From July,2021 Till Date”

The motion which was jointly sponsored by Hon.A.O Mustapha (Kajola) and Hon.A.A Rasaq(Ibadan South East l) Claimed that since the inauguration of the Local Government Chairmen by the Oyo state Governor Engr.Seyi Makinde,in July 1,2021 the activities of each local government has been administered by the local government Chairmen in their respective domains in meeting demands of the poeple in providing basic amenities for grassroots as the third- tier government.

Considering all the aforementioned constitutional responsibilities Local Government Chairmen are saddles with in their various domains,the community leaders, politician and other relevant stakeholders revealed that some Chairmen have performed up to expectations in consolidation with the developmental policy of the state Governor Engr.Seyi Makinde , while some did not perform as expected, which hinders the development in their domains.

In reaction to the yearning and out cry of the people in the affected areas,the Honourable Members as a representative of the people in in the state House of Assembly, therefore claimed that to achieve a true representation of their people there is need to strengthen their oversight functions on the local government as empowered by provision of Section 128 of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

In furtherance, lawmakers therefore suspended the Chairperson of Olorunsogo Local Government,Mrs.Oluwakemi Julianah Akanni Ika and Vice Hon.Badmus Mutiu Adesoji for two weeks.

This followed two petitions letters signed by members of the traditional council of Olorunsogo Local Government and Exco of Olorunsogo Local Government respectively.

This was contained in a petition titled :”Total Exclusiveness From The Government Of Olorunsogo Local Government By The Chairperson Hon.Oluwakemi Julianah Akanni Ika Of Executive Members”

The petition was signed by :

Hon.Badmus Mutiu Adesoji (Vice Chairman)

Hon.Adeyemo Olusola Paul (Secretary)

Hon.Owolabi Musbau (Chief of Staff)

Hon.Adetoro Mary (Super for Education)

Hon.Ibrahim Mudasiru (Super for Works)

Hon.Adigun Gbenro(Super for Special Duties

Hon.Abdulsalam Kamarudeen(Super for Agriculture)

Hon.Alaba Felicia (Super for Health)

However, Oyo Assembly made the pronouncement that, the leader of the House in Olorunsogo local government, Hon. BAMIKUNLE EZEKIEL ADETUNJI to take over the administrative of the local government within the period.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here